Books & Websites for Writers

By Anita Nolan, http://www.anitanolan.com
Pearl S. Buck Writing Center Write a Novel in a Year Workshop

Books on Writing

Self-Editing for Fiction Writers, Renni Browne and Dave King

Plot and Structure, James Scott Bell

The Elements of Style, William Strunk Jr and E.B. White

Writing the Breakout Novel and Writing the Breakout Novel Workbook,
Donald Maass

Woe Is I, Patricia T. O’Conner

Heroes and Heroines, Sixteen Master Archetypes, Tami D, Cowden, Caro LaFever, Sue Viders

Character and Viewpoint, Orson Scott Card

Stein on Writing, Sol Stein

Goal Motivation and Conflict, Debra Dixon (available only through Gryphon Books)

On Writing, Stephen King

Beginnings, Middles, and Ends, Nancy Kress

Creating Characters, Dwight Swain

Writer’s Market Books (Writer’s Market, Children’s Writer’s and Illustrator’s Market, Novel and Short Story Writer’s Market, Poet’s Market, etc.)  Also available online for a fee.

Second Sight, Cheryl B. Klein (children’s editor, book focuses on YA)

Websites

www.agentquery.com

http://www.guidetoliteraryagents.com/blog/

Online writers’ forum   http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/

Speculative fiction zine specializing in science fiction, fantasy, and horror stories of up to 5000 words
http://www.anotherealm.com/prededitors/ 

Children’s Magazines

http://www.woodenhorsepub.com/

http://www.kidmagwriters.com/

Directory of children’s publishers:

http://childrens-publishers.com/childrens-book-publishers-beginning-with-a/

Publisher’s Marketplace http:///www.publishersmarketplace.com/ (fee)

WOW! Women on Writing   http://www.wow-womenonwriting.com/

The Market List, for all fiction genres  http://www.marketlist.com/

Anita Nolan Revisions article http://www.anitanolan.com/theend.html

Synopsis writing   http://www.anitanolan.com/Synopsis.pdf

Book Proposals

http://www.hiwrite.com/

http://bookendslitagency.blogspot.com/2009/01/what-is-book-proposal-for-nonfiction.html

List of Magazines: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_United_States_magazines

Parenting Publications of America: http://www.parentingpublications.org/index.cfm?fuseaction=main

The Poetry Market: http://www.thepoetrymarket.com/ 

Source listing publications for fiction & poetry: http://www.duotrope.com

Horror/SciFi site, but excellent list of writing sources: http://ralan.com/a.writing.php

http://z4.invisionfree.com/Like_OMG_Teens_Read/index.php?

List of Children’s Authors http://www.bethanyroberts.com/childrensbookauthorsA-Z.htm#A-F

Lists of types of books from libraries  http://www.monroe.lib.in.us/childrens/booklists.html

James Patterson’s website for children’s reading  http://www.readkiddoread.com/home

Winning Writers – Mostly Poetry – Lots of contest info    http://www.winningwriters.com/index.php

Comparison of POD Publishers  http://writersweekly.com/pod_price_comparison/006780_06152011.html

Conferences/Groups

Greater Lehigh Writers Group (has an annual conference)  http://www.glvwg.org/

Philadelphia Writers (has annual conference)  http://www.pwcwriters.org/index.html

Mystery Writers http://www.mysterywriters.org/

Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers  http://www.sfwa.org/  (must be published)

Penn Writers  http://www.pennwriters.com/  (has annual conference)

Society of Children’s Book Writers & Illustrators www.scbwi.org (2 national conferences/year, many regional)

Romance Writers of America http://www.rwanational.org/   (one national, many regional conferences)

Directory of Writers Associations: http://www.ebookcrossroads.com/writers-associations.html

Check out my other posts on the PSB Writing Center blog under Resources:
Building a Synopsis Step-by-Step, Submission Dictionary,
and Formatting Your Manuscript.

 ©2012

Advertisements